top of page
  • Writer's pictureNhuBinh Tobias

Change & Renewal

Updated: Jan 23, 2018

( This blog was created on December 30th, 2017. Took me awhile to publish it :P )


When we don’t embrace the change, we aren’t allowing God to operate in us to our full potential like we were created to be.

September of 2017 we moved from the busy, fast pace, growing city of Grand Rapids, MI to another city in the Mitten called Ionia. A quiet, less populated city where you find antique stores, family businesses and restaurants, churches, a farmers market, and the city buildings in just a couple of streets. We became homeowners for the first time with a 1 and a half year old and 7 months pregnant with our second. We lived in Grand Rapids our whole life and with a growing family, we wanted something different - something new.


So here I am with a now 2 year old and a 1 month old. New city. New home. New pace. New church. New neighbors. New baby.


And it was definitely difficult. Change is difficult.


My husband and I prayed and were in total agreement about the new home. There was excitement, joy, praise - we just knew God was calling us here! Once moved and settled in, it was the whole ‘being a newborn mommy’ again that made it the most difficult along with being in a new town. I’m normally an outgoing person who can make friends just like that. But it became so draining being stay-at-home tending to a toddler and baby and being the best wife I possibly can to my husband who deserves it. Making new friends and strengthening my faith was the last thing on my list.


God reminded me of this: Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. (2 Corinthians 4:16)


Our Father reminded me of the excitement and joy before the move. I realized quickly I feared change. I didn’t like how it felt. The feeling of not being in control and acknowledging I needed to let it go before God. I pinned this bible verse on my phone so I could constantly remind myself to go in prayer about it. As I’m blogging this I shake my head and laugh knowing the fear of change hindered me from seeing God’s purpose and plan for us in this small new town. I had to let go my fear and walk with Him as He leads me and my family. When we don’t embrace the change, we aren’t allowing God to operate in us to our full potential like we were created to be.


I didn’t become ‘just okay’ with change. I found joy knowing God has a marvelous plan for me during this transformation. I embraced change and that in itself enabled me to welcome a beautiful renewal with open arms.


He’s renewing my heart.

Renewing my motherhood

Renewing my home.

And I love it.

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.

-NhuBinh ('New-Bin')

-Daughter of the King

-Wife to Jakey-Poo

-Mama Bear of 2

-Alpa Lady Cat of 2

-Musician

-Baker

-Cosmetologist

-Vietnamese, married to Lebanese

-Passionate Fighter (FTND)

bottom of page