top of page
  • Writer's pictureNhuBinh Tobias

4 Things That Will Help Your Motherhood


I am honored to have the best role in my child’s life!

Feeding, burping, changing, cleaning. Feeding, burping, changing, cleaning. Feeding, burping, changing, cleaning.


Sound familiar? All newborn moms know this so well. From the moment we wake up to the moment we go to sleep and all in between. We live by this ritual with stains of stinky spit up and purple bags under our eyes.

And if you’re like me, being a wife and a mother of a toddler too goes more like:

Feeding, burping, changing, cleaning, cooking, disciplining, crying (you), laundry, and surviving land mines of toys several times a day.


I would like to share with you 4 things that help me through it:


Set Aside Time For Devotions and Prayer

I know, it sounds ridiculous trying to find devotional time when you’re already catching up on sleep and chores when you’re able to. It can also be hard with a newborn because they are constantly being fed, burped, and changed. Sometimes, they just want to be held! What I have been doing is reading my Bible or a Scripture-based devotional book while giving Nhea her first bottle of the day. Personally I enjoy doing this because it sets the tone for the day and puts my mind and heart in the right place before I do anything else. It puts me in a place where I listen to His Voice and respond with my actions throughout the day. It is essential to continually feed our hunger for God and fill ourselves up with His Word as we get so drained being the best Momma’s we can be! Remember that we can’t function in our own strength - but His!


Make Time For Yourself!

When was the last time you did something for yourself? Something you enjoyed doing? It could be getting a mani/pedi done, going out for coffee, enjoying a hobby you have, having some girl time, or just going anywhere by yourself. A good idea is to lean on your husband for help. Communicate with each other on a day or evening where he can be with the kids so you can have some ‘me time.’ If you’re like me where my husband works a 2nd shift job (or any shift really because he’s a General Manager who would go into work if needed at any time), reach out to friends and family and see if they’re able to babysit the kiddos. This may mean scheduling weeks out in advance to match their schedule and look forward to the day you’re able to get away. There is nothing wrong with needing to ‘get away.’ All moms need a break, a time to relax and unwind and have a breather. Having that ‘me time’ will look different for all moms - it may be once a month, twice a month, or even once a week. Whatever works for you and your family - do it, because you are worth it.


Surround Yourself with Support and Encouragement

There are days when we feel on top of the world - no toddler breakdowns, no arguments, the house is kept clean, the kids actually ate all their food with no complaint and you have time to relax. But, there are also days where it’s just one thing after another and you can’t seem to get a grip - you barely slept, she’s throwing a tantrum over the color of her socks, he’s spitting food back at your face, and on top of that you and your husband are bickering more than usual. This is where we need to lean on each other for comfort, advice, connection and encouragement. It’s those kinds of days that justify why it is absolutely necessary to have a support system. You are not alone! Like it says in Thessalonians 5:11 “Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.”


And lastly,

Do Everything with an Intentional Heart

How is your attitude when you are living day to day as a mommy? Are you always frustrated and upset? Are you constantly complaining? This is not where our heart and mind should be. Recognize that God didn’t create anyone else to be in your role. He has designed you to be the mother of your child. How awesome is that?! It has immensely helped my motherhood when I began to change my perspective and did things with an intentional heart. I am not perfect, but I try every single day to remind myself that I am honored to have the best role in my child’s life! Don’t spend all your time and energy complaining and getting upset about things you probably won’t remember anymore as they start pre-school, or graduate high school, or move away for a job, or get married and think, “Where did all the time go?”


I hope and pray these little reminders help you get through the tough days, and enjoy the great days to the fullest! The little ones are looking up to you!

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.

-NhuBinh ('New-Bin')

-Daughter of the King

-Wife to Jakey-Poo

-Mama Bear of 2

-Alpa Lady Cat of 2

-Musician

-Baker

-Cosmetologist

-Vietnamese, married to Lebanese

-Passionate Fighter (FTND)

bottom of page