top of page
  • Writer's pictureNhuBinh Tobias

Reese's Inspired Peanut Butter Cake


I made this 2-layered cake for a friend's birthday who absolutely loves chocolate and peanut butter. So of course the first thing I thought of was REESE'S! I also used a favorite frosting among my family and friends - PEANUT BUTTER BUTTERCREAM!


You can find the SUPER EASY Peanut Butter Buttercream Frosting here!

And the SUPER EASY Chocolate Ganache Drip here!


Of course you'll need all of our Reese's goodies...


The cake I baked was a chocolate/vanilla marble cake. I level it off then piped the filling with the peanut butter buttercream frosting.


Next, I added chopped mini Reese's cups on top of the filling.


Then I placed the other cake on top and frosted a crumb coat with the peanut butter buttercream with an offset spatula. At this point the frosting was getting a bit too soft so I put the cake in the freezer for about 10 minutes so it can firm up for my next step.


After I took the cake out of the freezer I added another coat of the frosting. Popped it in the freezer again for another 10 minutes. Once I took it out, I used a pastry scraper to smooth out the frosting. For best results when it comes to the ganache 'drip,' you need to have a super straight and sharp finish!


Lookin' sharp!


Prior to building the cake, I used tempered chocolate to make abstract pieces by pouring it over crinkled parchment paper (foil would have been better) and cupcake liners as a mold.


Now we're ready to decorate! First I poured my ganache into a squeeze bottle, then gently squeezed it on the edges to create the drip. I purposely didn't pour ganache directly on top of the cake since I knew I would decorate it with Reese's Cups - I want them to pop against the beautiful peanut butter color.


Next I topped the cake with wrapped/unwrapped Reese's Cups, chopped Reese's Cups, the abstract chocolate pieces, and piped flowers with the buttercream.



So there you have it! My Reese's Inspired Peanut Butter Cake! I hope this inspires you to try out your own creations!

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.

-NhuBinh ('New-Bin')

-Daughter of the King

-Wife to Jakey-Poo

-Mama Bear of 2

-Alpa Lady Cat of 2

-Musician

-Baker

-Cosmetologist

-Vietnamese, married to Lebanese

-Passionate Fighter (FTND)

bottom of page