top of page
  • Writer's pictureNhuBinh Tobias

3-Layer Sponge Cake with Strawberry and Vanilla Whipped Cream


I made this DELICIOUS cake for a friend of mine last week. A yummy classic sponge cake, formally known as a 'European Genoise' - I also added my favorite flavor combos: fresh strawberries and vanilla whipped cream! I found the EASIEST spongecake recipe at Natasha's Kitchen. She has easy to follow recipes along with great tips and tricks! Check her page out! I doubled her recipe to create at least three 9-inch rounds.


Before I started on the sponge cake, I worked on macerating the strawberries. I washed one pound of strawberries, sliced them, place them in a bowl and poured 1/4 cup granulated sugar. Sugar will help draw out the liquid in the strawberries creating a yummy syrup for any dessert! Although I used fresh strawberries, I've noticed the longer it macerates it loses its freshness of flavor, so I like to add a teaspoon of lemon juice for a 'pop' of brightness and it brings it 'back to life.' You can definitely allow the strawberries to macerate first and then after tasting, add the lemon juice if you feel it's needed.

After I've baked and cooled my sponge cakes I started to fill and frost them.


By now the strawberries are ready to use! I lay my first cake down and brushed the strawberry syrup from my macerated strawberries onto the cake.


Next, using a 1A piping tip (or any circle sized piping tip), I piped around the edge and then worked my way into the center of the cake. (I will have a recipe for the STABILIZED whipped cream frosting in another post soon!)


Then I topped with the macerated strawberries.


I repeated on the second layer of cake, then I put the third layer of cake on and frosted with a 'petal piping' method as you see in the picture above and topped off with beautiful strawberries.


And there you have it! My take on a Strawberry/Vanilla flavored-inspired Sponge Cake! Would love to see your pictures if you try it!

コメント


-NhuBinh ('New-Bin')

-Daughter of the King

-Wife to Jakey-Poo

-Mama Bear of 2

-Alpa Lady Cat of 2

-Musician

-Baker

-Cosmetologist

-Vietnamese, married to Lebanese

-Passionate Fighter (FTND)

bottom of page